Historical fiction

Romans historiques en anglais

  • WHEN WE FALL (HISTORICAL FICTION)(LIVRE EN ANGLAIS) Nouv.

  • Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020 For readers of Circe and The Handmaid''s Tale , Kiran Millwood Hargrave''s The Mercies is a story about how suspicion can twist its way through a community, and about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful. Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardo is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardo is now a place of women. Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . . ''Beautiful and chilling'' Madeline Miller, author of Circe ''Took my breath away'' Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

  • MISS AUSTEN

    Gill Hornby

    ''So good, so intelligent, so clever, so entertaining - I adored it.'' CLAIRE TOMALIN ''This is a deeply imagined and deeply moving novel. Reading it made me happy and weepy in equally copious amounts.'' KAREN JOY FOWLER ________________________________ A wonderfully original, emotionally complex ''reading-group'' novel that delves into why Cassandra burned a treasure trove of letters written by her sister, Jane Austen - an act of destruction that has troubled academics for centuries. It''s 1840, twenty-three years after the death of her famous sister Jane, and Cassandra Austen - alone and unwed - returns to the vicarage in the village of Kintbury. There, in a dusty corner of the sprawling vicarage, she discovers a treasure trove of family letters - and within them secrets that she feels certain must not be revealed. She resolves to burn the letters, even those written by Jane herself. But why destroy so much of her sister''s legacy? As Cassandra casts an eye back on her youth and the life of her brilliant yet complex sister, she pieces together long-buried truths from both her and Jane''s pasts, and knows she must make a terrible choice: let the contents of the letters colour Jane''s memory for ever - or protect her reputation no matter the cost. ________________________________ ''Gill Hornby ingeniously imagines what Cassandra Austen''s own life might have been like, both before and after Jane''s untimely death, casting a different light on the familiar biographical picture without in any way distorting it.'' DEIRDRE LE FAYE, editor of Jane Austen''s Letters ''Miss Austen is affecting, thought-provoking, and makes you think about both Jane and Cassandra Austen in a new light.'' HELENA KELLY, author of Jane Austen, The Secret Radical

  • A staggeringly beautiful and unbearably poignant novel. O'Farrell is one of the most surprisingly quiet radicals in fiction

  • NICK

    Michael Farris Smith

  • The September pick for Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine Book Club _______________ 'A thrilling, seductive and utterly compelling novel. I absolutely loved it!' SARAH WINMAN _______________ TWO FEMALE SPIES. A BANNED MASTERPIECE. A BOOK THAT CHANGED HISTORY.

    1956. A celebrated Russian author is writing a book, Doctor Zhivago, which could spark dissent in the Soviet Union. The Soviets, afraid of its subversive power, ban it.

    But in the rest of the world it's fast becoming a sensation.

    In Washington DC, the CIA is planning to use the book to tip the Cold War in its favour.

    Their agents are not the usual spies, however. Two typists - the charming, experienced Sally and the talented novice Irina - are charged with the mission of a lifetime: to smuggle Doctor Zhivago back into Russia by any means necessary.

    It will not be easy. There are people prepared to die for this book - and agents willing to kill for it. But they cannot fail - as this book has the power to change history.

    Sold in twenty-five countries and poised to become a global literary sensation, Lara Prescott's dazzling first novel is a sweeping page turner and the most hotly anticipated debut of the year.
    ________________ 'A riveting story of secrets, forbidden passions and the dark arts of espionage. I couldn't put it down!' LISA JEWELL 'Enthralling... This is a rare page-turner with prose that's as wily as its plot.' VOGUE 'A proto-feminist Mad Men transposed to the world of international espionage - mid-century style and intrigue set against real, indelible history.' ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY 'I loved this book. So vivid and engaging. A joy to read a story about spies that has lots of women in active roles.' CATHY RENTZENBRINK 'All the pre-publication hype is fully justified ... Prescott's debut novel turns out to be a truly wonderful blend of historical romance, spy thriller and insights into the myriad aspects of love in troubled times... Loved it.' CRIME TIME 'A fascinating story, so cleverly told, of the long chain of people who helped to bring Pasternak's masterpiece into the world. I gulped it down.' GILL HORNBY 'The insight into the workings of the CIA, the portrait of the 1950s and a threatened love affair in the West ... make for riveting reading.' DAILY MAIL 'Well-researched and cleverly constructed... An intriguing and little-known chapter of literary history is brought to life.' KIRKUS (starred review) 'Triumphant ... This debut shines as spy story, publication thriller and historical romance with a twist.' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 'This captivating novel is so assured that it's hard to believe it's a debut - and very easy to see why there's huge buzz around it.' SUNDAY MIRROR ________________ Early readers can't stop talking about The Secrets We Kept:

    'I absolutely devoured it. Totally compelling, it made my heart swoop until the very last page.' 'Thrilling, moving and utterly compelling - one of those rare books that makes you forget the outside world.' 'The Secrets We Kept is a brilliant twist on the traditional Cold War spy thriller. It's told through a cast of intelligent and intriguing women and is full of secrets, glamour and love.' 'I absolutely loved it, adored it even, and I can't stop talking about The Secrets We Kept' 'The Secrets We Kept is like nothing else I've read before. The story is vivid and alluring, and one that will stay with you forever.' 'The Secrets We Kept reads like a high-stakes, Mad Men inspired, spy thriller. Classy and glamorous, yet revealing and complex, it has a cast of spectacular characters and a truly emotional core. This really is something special!

  • Jackdaws

    Ken Follett

    May 1944 - The French Resistance have a daring plan to disrupt the Nazi war effort during the Second World War.

  • The Four Winds is a deeply moving, powerful story about the strength and resilience of women and the bond between mother and daughter, by the multi-million copy number one bestselling author Kristin Hannah. She will discover the best of herself in the worst of times . . . Texas, 1934. Elsa Martinelli had finally found the life she''d yearned for. A family, a home and a livelihood on a farm on the Great Plains. But when drought threatens all she and her community hold dear, Elsa''s world is shattered to the winds. Fearful of the future, when Elsa wakes to find her husband has fled, she is forced to make the most agonizing decision of her life. Fight for the land she loves or take her beloved children, Loreda and Ant, west to California in search of a better life. Will it be the land of milk and honey? Or will their experience challenge every ounce of strength they possess? From the overriding love of a mother for her child, the value of female friendship, and the ability to love again - against all odds, Elsa''s incredible journey is a story of survival, hope and what we do for the ones we love.

  • THE MERCIES

    Kiran Millwood Hargrave

    B>'A gripping novel /b>. . . b>Beautiful and chilling' Madeline Miller, author of Circe/b>On Christmas Eve, 1617, the sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. As Maren Magnusdatter watches, forty fishermen, including her father and brother, are lost to the waves, the menfolk of Vardø wiped out in an instant.Now the women must fend for themselves.Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of Vardø to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In Vardø, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place untouched by God and flooded with a mighty and terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs.Inspired by the real events of the Vardø storm and the 1621 witch trials, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about how suspicion can twist its way through a community, and a love that may prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

empty