THE DANGERS OF SMOKING IN BED - STORIES

À propos

B>SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery (O: The Oprah Magazine),/b> b>in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges./b>br>br>b>KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY OPRAH DAILY AND KIRKUS REVIEWS Mariana Enriquezs stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling.--Lauren Groff, author of Matrix and Fates and Furies/b>br>br>Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken--fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history--with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls cant let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.br> br>Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.

  • Authors

    Mariana Enriquez

  • Publisher

    Hogarth Us

  • Publication date

    01/02/2022

  • EAN

    9780593134092

  • Disponibilité

    Disponible

  • Nombre de pages

    208 Pages

  • Longueur

    20.3 cm

  • Largeur

    13.3 cm

  • Épaisseur

    1.4 cm

  • Poids

    187 g

  • Distributeur

    Olf

  • Support principal

    Poche

Mariana Enriquez

  • Naissance : 1-1-1973
  • Age : 50 ans
  • Country : Argentine
  • Langue : Espagnol (argentine)

Née à Buenos Aires en 1973, Mariana Enriquez est journaliste et écrivaine. Véritable phénomène, Notre part de nuit a été couronné par de nombreux et prestigieux prix littéraires.

empty